What do you worry about?

Are you a worrier? What do you worry about? As I have gotten older, I find myself worrying more. Perhaps that’s because I know more and understand what can happen? I don’t know. But when I find myself worrying about what might or might not happen, I ask myself two questions.

First, I ask if it’s something I can control. Often it’s something I can’t control. I can’t control what other people do; I can’t control what companies or the weather do; I can only control how I react to whatever it is and how I let myself be affected by it. So if I have no control, why waste energy worrying about it?

Second, I ask if it will matter five years from now. Usually I decide that in five years, this incident will not matter at all in the grand scheme of things, so again, why waste energy worrying about it?

There are a lot of things in life we can’t control; there are some things we can. I live by the maxim of expect the best but plan for the worst. But I no longer spend time and energy worrying about what might happen if it’s something I can’t control.

2 thoughts on “What do you worry about?

  1. Great post, Ruth. As Ann said, we CAN focus on the what I mind receives as a "truth," and control the positive and negative thoughts that will enter our minds. I used to worry a lot more than I do now. When something out of my own control threatens to disrupt my life, I chose to focus on the positive and let the other go. After all, there are lessons in everything, and jewels too, if we choose to look for them. And they are there for our learning experience.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

