A New Adventure

Today I had an MRI of my brain and cervical spine. It went well with the IV sedation, although the nurse had to give me another dose as it started to wear off too soon. Since they were viewing two areas, it took quite a while. I was planning on getting the results tomorrow at my regular treatment appointment. But we had only been home a few minutes when my PA called. The radiologist had called her to let her know they saw multiple metastases in my brain. She apologized for telling me over the phone but didn’t want to wait until tomorrow’s appointment. The radiologist was surprised that I wasn’t having horrendous headaches. But I’ve had no symptoms, unless the problems with my hand are related to that. So now it’s time for brain radiation. A whole new adventure! And it means I’m back on the Dexamethasone but twice a day for now to reduce brain swelling and prevent seizures.

We will keep our appointment with the PA tomorrow as I still need my flu shot and possibly my regular blood work. Then on Wednesday we have an appointment with a radiation oncologist to plan the next step.

This was not what I wanted to hear, but I wasn’t surprised, I sort of knew, just like I knew I had lung cancer before my doctor told me.

So once again Onward and Upward.

23 thoughts on “A New Adventure

  1. ❤️❤️❤️ Onward and Upward .. With you ! We never ever know what the future has in store. I have learned this through my daughter’s illness and the patients’ stories we witnessed and heard bout during our long long stays at hospitals in the Stockholm area. The craziest most wonderful things happened there. Surprises of the good kind and the bad. Things we never dreamed of. So, Onward and Upward with you. ❤️

  2. There is an option above to rate this post. How about HATE this post? So sorry to hear about your test results. Will be keeping you in my thoughts. Take care. Craig

  3. I agree with Craig. I hate this… and can only imagine how you feel. Please believe me, Ruth, how dear you have grown to me, and that I hold you in my heart and pray for you. Thinking positively, I know you have so much fight in you, and that is a precious gift.

  4. lillytnin says:

    Oh Ruth, I’m so sorry to hear of this new development. You have such a grea attitude, so just keep chugging along. I have heard of some patients taking Namenda while undergoing whole brain radiation. You may want to bring it up to discuss with your doctor. Best of luck!
    Tori

  5. I wish there was some other option to respond – I mean, I can hardly hit the “like” button on this kind of news but I do like your attitude Ruth and that means everything in the battle. Onward and upward! YES!

  6. I’m so, so sorry to hear this. You’re in my prayers daily, and I so admire your determination and attitude. None of us knows what tomorrow will bring, but we do have today, and I hope your today is a good one.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

