Cancerversary

What a roller coaster ride this past year has been! This time last year I was sitting in my primary care doctor’s office waiting for the results of my chest x-ray and CT scan, knowing in my heart it was cancer, just not the extent of it. I remember driving home and wondering how I was going to tell my partner. The very next day, I met my oncologist. Then came a whirlwind of tests and appointments to discuss the findings, and then my first chemo treatment, which was not kind to me. And I don’t know how many chemo treatments since then. And somehow, I continued working; sometimes just a couple of hours a day. But I mostly used that time to train so that someone would be able to take over my duties, and that allowed me to retire in February.

The time since then has been sometimes a blur and sometimes has had too much clarity. But I have made it to the one year mark; many don’t. I have lost count of how many cycles of chemo I have had, and how many times I have cried, and how many times there were little victories. What has kept me going through all of this is a positive attitude, and my support system of sister-friends, family, and people who don’t even know me who have taken up my cause in their churches and prayer circles. I am so thankful for all of you.

Oh, and I almost forgot; today is Day 1,000 of my Gratitude Journal Blog – how cool is that?

10 thoughts on “Cancerversary

  1. With tears in my eyes and gratitude in my heart, I heave a huge sigh of “thank You” to God, to you reaching this milestone, to your gratitude blog, to you allowing us to be a part of your journey, and most of all, a huge thank you to YOU for hanging in there, for showing up everyday to whatever the day (and night) holds for you, for all that you are and do and for being. I love you so much, and am so in awe of you and proud of your tenacity and positive attitude and generosity of heart, no matter how horrible you’re feeling, you always have words of encouragement and love for us. You rock. xoxoxoxoxo

  2. Wow! One year anniversary is fabulous! Thanks for sharing the news, I hadn’t realized it had been a year already. Love your attitude, keep staying positive, putting one foot in front of the other, and of course, keep breathing!

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

