Rough Week

The week since my last chemo infusion has been rough. It took about 7 or 8 days for my body and brain to feel normal again. I think that was mostly because of the steroids more than the chemo itself.

Friday morning, I woke up so jittery I thought I was going to jump out of my skin. I couldn’t sit still; I couldn’t concentrate or focus on much of anything. The upside of all that was I never had the severe fatigue that usually hits on day 3 and/or 4 after chemo. Although I didn’t have the fatigue, I still had the general malaise and brain fog that usually comes with the fatigue.

By Wednesday of this week, I was feeling better, and by Thursday even better still. So 8 days after the Alimta and all those steroids. In retrospect, I should have insisted that I get stepped down from the steroid push because I know what could happen. I don’t know why my team didn’t bring it up either, and I don’t blame them; I think they were too concerned in getting me through the immediate crisis to worry about afterwards. But since they think I need to up my prophylactic dose of Dexamethasone for next time, I’m going to insist they give me a schedule for tapering off whether I have another reaction or not.

Yesterday and today were the closest to a normal day I’ve had in a while. My hair is growing back and actually is long enough that it looks decent; I’m back to having to use my tweezers on my chin hair; my GI system is good enough to deal with extremely spicy Cajun food.

Life is good.

10 thoughts on “Rough Week

  1. Thank you for continuing to keep us up to date on your status via this blog. And I am so wowed that you are up to Day 874 of your gratitude journal. You’re an amazing woman, Ruth and I am blessed to know you.

  2. Thank you, Anne. It’s easier to keep it up because I started it before my cancer diagnosis. I’m not sure it would be in existence now if I hadn’t. 🙂

  3. I’m a bit late getting here…still away visiting friends, and typing on a teeny tiny keyboard..but just wanted to pop in. So much that my heart wants to say, some “bravo” and some “crap” for what you have to go through, but mostly “love you” for doing this…for doing the chemo thing, for sharing your journey with us, for continuing your gratitude journal, for continuing to shine light and laughter into our lives no matter what else is going on in your brain, stomach and life. You truly are a joy to know, and I thank God every day for you.

  4. Thank you, Sharon, for popping in to visit. 🙂 I hope you’re enjoying your visit. Writing about all this truly helps me sort out my own feelings about what’s going on. It also has brought so many beautiful souls into my life.

  5. Was it curly before? I only ask because my father-in-law is about to undergo chemo and he think’s it’ll make his hair curly (and he’s already bald!) 😉

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

