Status Report

The latest blood work shows that my white and red counts are normal and holding steady, which means my immune system is in good shape, and I have the green light for – sushi! Something I have missed so much since I started chemo back in November.

However, my CEA and liver enzymes continue to creep upwards, I’m having shortness of breath without exertion, and a dry hacking cough. The shortness of breath could be the Alimta, it could be allergies, it could by COPD, it could be any number of things. Same thing for the cough. But if they were caused by allergies, there should be a decrease on the days I’m taking the Dexamethasone, and there isn’t. The increase in liver enzymes and CEA could be related and could just be an effect of the chemo. So my next appointment will include another CT scan ahead of schedule. And if the symptoms get worse, I’m to let the team know and they might do the CT scan even sooner.

I’m feeling okay, so I’m thinking there probably isn’t anything going on with the cancer just now, but the symptoms are troubling anyway. I didn’t sleep well at all last night because of the Dexamethasone, and that med upped my pulse and BP today. But my O2 saturation levels are maintaining at around 97%, which is great.

So I’m basically in another holding pattern, but staying positive. And now it’s nap time!

10 thoughts on “Status Report

  1. Continuing to keep you and your lungs and your liver (all of you) in my prayers…I’m visualizing healing and restoration…love and light pouring through every pore and cell.

    xoxoxoxo

  2. Keep the faith going Ruth, praying for you. How many chemotherapy have you had? I had six sessions almost five years ago.

  3. I started chemo Nov 4th, and have been on it ever since. I think 4 rounds of combo therapy then onto maintenance, which is what I’m getting now every 3 weeks.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

