Status check

My CT scan showed no progression of the cancer and there was some regression in the size of one or two tumors while a third seemed to be gone. My liver enzymes were elevated and that is what the oncologist thinks caused the increase in my CEA level. We will continue to monitor CEA as it’s showing an upward trend and do another CT scan in 3 months. If there is progression, he wants another biopsy to test for more mutations (the first one didn’t have enough tissue to do much testing other than to show negative for ROS-1) and try for a clinical trial of immune therapy currently underway in another part of the state. We are relieved at no size increase in the tumors, and for an explanation for the CEA increase. He seems pleased with my progress and sounded encouraging. In the meantime, we’ll continue with the Pemetrexed.

My oxygen saturation levels have been running in the 95-96% range, which is good. Yesterday, the level was 99-100%. I have to attribute this to the exercise I’ve been doing at the gym. It’s encouraging to know that all that sweating and aches and pains are paying off. I haven’t lost any weight, but I haven’t gained any more either. I’m going to keep going to the gym as much as I can and maybe I will lose some of the pounds that have piled on over the past 6 months. The increase in oxygen saturation is an unexpected benefit.

I went to the Dermatologist today for a skin check. If I had known it would be the day after a chemo infusion I probably would have changed the appointment, but I’m glad now it’s done. She didn’t find anything suspicious, but she did burn off a few plaques that were constantly catching on things and bleeding all over everything. As a friend said, it feels like being blow-torched like creme brulee (not sure I’ll ever be able to eat creme brulee again after that analogy!) but at least I don’t have to go back for a year unless something comes up before then.

I’m starting to feel as if I can live normally – at least for a while – and go to the dentist, and have other checkups done that are overdue.

 

7 thoughts on “Status check

  1. saundragoodman says:

    It seems like a miracle that the tumors have shrunk and one is gone. There is so much good news in this post that I am jumping in my chair and clapping my hands. Sorry about the steroid side affects. I can relate to that (for 18 years).

  2. I echo what Saundra said, including the dancing in my chair…but add tears of joy for this wonderful good miracle-news! I’m thanking God as I write this, and congratulate you on all the hard work and “blood, sweat and tears” you’ve put into helping this miracle to be able to happen. (Does that even make sense? I mean things like going to the gym, eating healthy, and especially nurturing your positive attitude all along the way). xoxoxox

  3. It’s hard to be positive all the time, especially on days when the fatigue is bad. But all of y’all in my cheering section really help and for that I am grateful! 🙂

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

