A New Normal?

I have been feeling off for the last couple of days; I just could not stay awake so took lots of naps. And I’ve been a little loopy; dropping things, unsteady, hungry all the time, upset GI system. Then it dawned on me – it’s the chemo stupid!! Since I have chemo only every 3 weeks now, I feel so good most of the time that when I don’t feel good, I forget what’s causing it. One of the side effects of the Pemetrexed (Alimta) I’m getting is severe fatigue, so yeah, I felt like I had to sleep a lot. Combine that with the GI symptoms (and I won’t go into details on that one!), and yeah, I’m going to feel crappy for a day or two. I should have it figured out by now that by the end of Friday of the week I get my infusion, I’m going to feel like crap. Now I have it figured out – until the next time.

The scheduler at my oncologist’s office called me Friday to set up a CT scan for my next visit, and to assure me that my PA had talked to my oncologist and they knew I was concerned about the increase in the CEA level, and that’s why they scheduled another CT scan to get a sense of what’s going on. I will meet with the oncologist right after the CT scan so there won’t be a wait before getting the results. I will also have my CEA level checked the Friday before my Tuesday appointment so we can discuss that at the appointment, too, and not have to wait until a day or two later to get the results. I wish there were a faster, better way to see what’s going on without having to wait to have tests, and then having to wait to get the results. I find the further into this journey I get, the more impatient i get. 

I also think I need to stop researching clinical trials and treatments. I normally like to be prepared, but I think I’m overloading myself and confusing myself about the options available. So I think I need to take a break for a while. And I need to get back to focusing on my writing; I have sorely neglected my stories for quite a while. What brought this home to me is a couple of new followers on my fiction blog; I haven’t added anything to it in over a year. Time to get in gear and write!

 

8 thoughts on “A New Normal?

  1. Sometimes knowing the connection to what’s causing the crap makes it mentally easier to cope…knowing, based on past experience, that this too will pass. But I still find myself sighing with sadness that you have to go through this at all. It really comes down to one moment, one hour, one day at a time sometimes, doesn’t it.

  2. And how wonderful that you’re getting a little stress reduction help in terms of, for example, quick test results. That business of having a scan and then having to wait and wait for results isn’t good.

    I hope tomorrow’s even better!

  3. As crappy as side effects can be, I really appreciate knowing they are exactly that. Nothing messes with your mind more than feeling crummy and not being able to trace it to a side effect. Take care.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

