Status

I seem to be doing okay on the maintenance chemo with Pemetrexed. I’m having some annoying GI symptoms, but not even close to what I’ve had before. I’m happy that my CEA level went down, and my hair is growing back. I even have eyelashes, short and stubby though they may be. And pretty soon, I’ll be back to having to shave my legs.

I’m getting impatient for my hair to hurry up and grow already. It’s still so short I can’t even tell if it’s straight, curly, or wavy. And it’s white with some darker strands here and there. But I’m just going to have to wait.

I’m still careful about what I’m in contact with until I’m sure my immune system is up to snuff. And I’m chomping at the bit to get to the gym for water aerobics, or some other gentle activity that will help lose some of what I’m calling my blimpie weight. Part of it is steroids, part of it is chemo, and part of it is inactivity as I’ve had no energy to do anything. But my energy is coming back, and I’m able to do a lot more. I have 3 rose bushes to care for now (a birthday present from my partner) and I’m enjoying being outside in the gorgeous Spring weather we’ve been having since Christmas. The heat of summer will be here soon enough, so I’m going to enjoy this as much as I can.

I know I’m not cured; I know my cancer is still there; and I know it could grow and spread again at any time. But for now, I’m planning to live a ‘normal’ life, whatever that may be. I’m not going to live as if I’m dying. I want to do the things we planned we would do when I retired. And I’m going to enjoy my life every day.

8 thoughts on “Status

  1. This is such an inspirational post, Ruth. Water aerobics is great as a gentle exercise and the three rose bushes sound absolutely beautiful (I love roses) 😉

  2. Good on you Ruth. You are amazing and I admire your attitude. Live life to the full and enjoy each and every day just as we all should. Love Jenna.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

