The Waiting Game

I have had no side effects from the Pemetrexed maintenance dose I received 3 weeks ago. That’s the good news. I don’t know if it’s working yet, but I am scheduled for a second dose on Tuesday after routine blood work. I’ve been feeling almost normal and have more energy and stamina than I have had since I first started chemo at the beginning of November. I’m hoping that the maintenance will keep my cancer in check for quite a while so we can enjoy our retirement. My hair is growing back – at least on my head. I don’t see any signs of eylashes or eyebrows growing yet; maybe it will just take a while.

We have been able to go on what I call photo safaris each week, and we’re running out of new places to go. Daytrips are all we can handle at the moment, and besides, neither of the dogs likes going anywhere; they are serious home bodies. Who would keep the elephants away if they weren’t here?

So now it’s just a matter of waiting again. But I am feeling much more optimistic, even though my last CEA level showed a slight increase. It went up less than a whole point, but that was before the maintenance began. So now I’m anxious to see where it is. I’m just going to have to be patient! Not an easy task these days.

10 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. So happy to hear you say that you are feeling almost normal, Ruth. And I have been loving the images you’ve been posting from your photo safaris! Can’t wait to see the next ones.

  2. Iva Pokorny says:

    The waiting game is one if the hardest to play. But you are feeling very wellish. So your news should be good. Right? I love you safari photos. They are so exciting for me, here in Sweden. Waiting with you for news and photos. Iva

  3. Hey Ruth,

    I’m with you … I’m not good a waiting either! My husband says I must learn patience but I want to learn it right now …

    R

  4. I’m so happy to hear you are feeling a little better and have more stamina. I hope every day you feel better and better. Love to you from Jenna

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

