Funerals

I was watching a TV show the other night where one of the characters went to a relative’s funeral and was the only one who showed up. I remember thinking how sad that was. Evidently the relative was a bitter, angry, nasty, person and had alienated the rest of the family. And that got me thinking. (Don’t you just love it when a word, a phrase, a TV episode, triggers a blog post?)

I sometimes wonder what life will be like without me in it. I know the world won’t stop. There is just so much I still want to do, so I have no intention of dying any time soon, but I’m curious about what it will be like. Will my dogs miss me (assuming I die before they do)? Will my partner find someone else? And how long will my spirit hang around? Will anyone know I’m there?

I don’t think I’m afraid of dying. I am afraid of what I’ll miss. Is that the same thing? I think I’m more curious than afraid.

Funerals are for the living to celebrate the life of the one who died. I know they can be sad occasions, but I think they should be celebrations. A time to remember. And as long as someone remembers the dead, they are not truly dead.

Until my death arrives, I think I’ll hang around and live the best life I can.

12 thoughts on “Funerals

  1. I agree that you don’t want to leave the dance early, Ruth. But I am sure your spirit form will be able to with your loved ones for as long as they are here on this earth. And of course, you will all be able to get together again later. I’m a great believer in everlasting life. And I do believe my former husband has been able to speak to me in dreams. There are plenty of books out there, Ruth, whose authors share my opinion.

  2. I believe in spirituality and there is certainly another ‘life’ after death. I used to research this (a lot) when I first started writing. It got a bit depressing after a while because I started to think of the things I would miss and the people who would miss me. It’s one of the ‘big questions’ that haunts me (particularly at about 3am). Life is for living and living the best life you can – I have a feeling you’ll be here for the long haul 😉

  3. Hmmm…. Everyone talking about death and funerals ..But it was all “happy talk” celebrating Life. Interesting! And put a smile on my worried face! Remember ” talking happy talk” from South Pacific? The Musical. That dates me pretty well, I guess. My dad loved musicals. I knew them all as a kid … And all the lyrics. :). Oh well … I guess we all have a lot of living to do! ( Which is the title of a Presley song. 😉

    Hugs to you, Ruth! And thank you for this post. I am grateful!

  4. I think as same as you do about funerals should be celebration and I think we should live our life’s to not miss anything behind each day each second cause we never know when it’s time to go.

  5. I have also pondered the same questions that you pose about what will happen after I die. When my mother passed away I couldn’t understand how life could just keep going on the same as if nothing had happened. I’ve since learned to accept that life and death are inevitable and everybody has a time to live and die. Love to you from Jenna

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

