Now what?

I had my first round with Pemetrexed yesterday, and so far no side effects. But I am feeling extremely jittery – probably because I had to up my dose of Dexamethasone to twice a day for 3 days instead of the 1/2 pill the night before and morning of chemo. Then I got a call from the oncologist’s office saying that the radiologist’s report on the CT scan showed some breast changes and I need to go get a mammogram. I can’t begin to describe how devastated I felt at that phone call. Now I know it may be nothing, but I also know that it’s unlikely to be metastasis from the lung. So now I have to wait for the mammo to be scheduled, and then I have to wait for the results, and then who knows. I’m really trying to stay positive, but it’s very hard after this latest news.

Keeping my fingers crossed that it’s just increased density because of age.

 

17 thoughts on “Now what?

  1. saundragoodman says:

    I hit “Like” because you had the courage to post after that phone call. Your entire body is reacting to the chemo. Maybe it’s just showing up in your breasts, which are sensitive. Do they not give you something to counteract the jitters? That would be helpful.

  2. Iva Pokorny says:

    Take the meds and sleep on it all, Ruth. Or call your doctor and find out what this all means.

    Take care, my friend. Do what you need to do to find your answers.

    Hugs! And much love
    Your Iva

  3. As anxiety-producing as the call had to be, how wonderful it is that you have such attentive people dedicated to your care. Given a choice between someone who says, “Oh, it’s probably nothing” and someone who says, “Get your rear in here and let’s check this out”, I’m going with the latter.

    We’ll hope it’s nothing more than an overabundance of caution.

  4. costellocnm says:

    Dear Ruth, I am so sorry you have to go through this added anxiety. Let’s just hope it’s an overabundance of caution on their part. A few times when I went for a mammogram,they called me back to do extra views or sonogram just to be extra vigilant. The mammo. tech would always alert me to the fact that they (this particular practicein NJ) usually do follow up views on lung cancer pt.. Maybe to “cover themselves” also. Sending you a big hug , healing energy & strength to get through this.Remember you are not alone ~ Maureen

  5. Thank you for the suggestions. I have already made the changes suggested many years ago before I was diagnosed. One has to be careful with supplements because some of the antioxidants will actually protect the cancer cells.

  6. That makes sense since cancer cells are body cells run-a-muck. I am just gathering opinions from people who have been far more effected than myself.

    It is prompted by the poisons that I have seen in processed and modern foods. Where a clean diet, fitness, and supplements have had a profound affect on people lives before and after.

    What are your thoughts on baking soda?

    http://www.naturalnews.com/027481_prostate_cancer_baking_soda.html

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

  7. I would want to see more than anecdotal evidence. This may have worked for this person, but without any scientific study, there is no way to know. I don’t know who this doctor is, and so I’m not necessarily going to believe what he says until I see more about him. Anyone can get on the Internet and tout a cure for everything from cancer to diabetes, but unfortunately, many of them are nothing but snake oil salesmen who cause more harm than good. Just my two cents.

  8. I appreciate your thoughts and opinion. No idea is good without an alternative view or another perspective.

    There are always so many studies that say one thing and then the next year another says the opposite. I like to hear anecdotal evidence like you.

    Thank you for being so open.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

  9. That’s why it’s important to evaluate the study; who paid for it? What was the methodology? Is there a control group? Double-blind study? Many studies are flawed because the researchers are catering to whoever funded the research. You have to do your homework. Good example, a study that said salt isn’t bad for you was funded by an industry group that included salt producers, and there was no way to know that without drilling down through the layers of companies.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

