CT Scan

We spent about 4 hours at the doctor’s office today for first blood work, then a CT scan, then a meeting with my oncologist. The scan looks good. There was no change in the size of the  primary tumor in my left lung, but he thought it might be scar tissue given that the secondary tumors, the largest of which is in the liver, did shrink. And, my left upper lobe has re-inflated; it had shown as collapsed on the previous scans.

So what does this mean? It means I begin maintenance therapy tomorrow with Pemetrexed. This had been part of my first chemo series along with Cisplatin, but my side effects were so severe that they switched me to Carboplatin and Paclitaxel. I have had a total of 4 rounds of chemo. My oncologist seems quite optimistic that the Pemetrexed will keep the tumors in check and may even reduce them further. And he thinks that the  severe side effects were from the Cisplatin and not from the Pemetrexed. The down side is that I will be back on higher doses of Dexamethasone, which makes me jittery and unable to sleep. But if I only have to take it for 3 days out of every 21, I’m not going to complain!

I will have another PET/CT scan in 6-9 weeks, depending on the CEA levels (tumor markers). If the CEA continues to go down or stays the same, we will wait 9 weeks; but if the CEA starts going up, we will do it sooner. Here’s hoping for 9 weeks!

15 thoughts on “CT Scan

  1. Oh dear god! I opened this as soon as I saw it in my inbox and now I’ve got goose bumps! This is absolutely fantastic!!! I’m teary so I can’t imagine how you must feel at the moment 😀

  2. What wonderful news! I was hoping all went well today, and this is very good, indeed.

    I had to laugh – I was in the grocery store tonight and when I walked past the Ghiradelli Triple Chocolate Brownie mix, I thought of you. If I were there, I’d whip up a batch for you.

  3. So glad that you CT yielded some good results, Ruth. I will continue praying that this is the beginning of a trend and that the next one will be even better!

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

