Courage

…not all great acts of courage are obvious to those looking in from the outside.
― Mia Sheridan

This particular quote really struck a chord with me today. I chose it as today’s tweet some time ago – I gather quotes and schedule them to be tweeted at some point in the future. I didn’t give this one a second thought until today. Courage is often thought of as the ability to do great deeds and save someone or something, but it is really living in the day-to-day circumstances over which we have no control. It is living with excruciating pain on a daily basis and yet having a smile on your face. It is knowing your cancer will kill you, yet living a full life and laughing in the face of death. It is knowing that every step will send shooting pains through your whole body, yet walking the path anyway. It’s easy to see courage sometimes; those who rescue people from a burning building or vehicle, for example. And we see examples of courage every night on the evening news. It’s these quiet instances of courage we don’t see.

Since I have been on this journey, I have ‘met’ so many people living with cancer who show great grace and humor. On the dark days I sometimes have; when the pain seems too much to bear; when I know this cancer will kill me; when I despair of ever being able to control my life again; that’s when I remember those I have met who are also traveling this dark path yet are scattering light along the way for those of us who follow along. I salute you.

13 thoughts on “Courage

  1. Wow Ruth! I’m in awe. Speechless. But I want to give you a big hug. Take care, lady, and “keep on keeping on.” I salute your bravery. (Even though I know you may just shrug it off and say, “What other choice is there?” I still see bravey in you.)

  2. I salute you, Ruth.
    I love your post and the sentiment. It makes so much sense to me.
    It’s true that courage is not only the easily identifiable.
    I hope today is a good day for you. Shae x

  3. Sending Light & Love your way ~ I know how you feel. I will shine my light in your direction as we walk on the same path together. Cancer sucks ! You are not alone ~

  4. I heard this statement some time ago and it has stayed with me.

    Although it is attributed to Nelson Mandela, I am sure that something similar has been said by others who have faced adversity:

    I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.

    We all find in different ways the courage to confront our fears and to put one foot in front of the other each day …

    My wish for you is the continued knowledge that you are not alone and that not only are you loved, but others are fighting along side of you …

    Rennie

  5. I found you while reading your comment on the Boomer blog (about To Kill a Mockingbird). Like you, I immerse myself in a book and have a hard time crawling out, at the end. Perhaps your love of reading, and learning about people through the characters of a good book, about life and its ups and downs, has helped you gain this amazing courage. I’d like to think so. We do have a choice – to let an illness, fear, pain, bring us down, or to fight it with love of life, fortitude, persistence,and yes, great courage. I salute you.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

