The light at the end of the tunnel

Today is an off week, meaning no chemo. The next 3-week round starts on Tuesday next week, and should be my last. The plan is for 3 more doses, then more blood work and another CT scan, and then to go on maintenance therapy. Supposedly, that will involve a once-every-three-week dose of Alimta but at a lower dose than is used for chemo. I’m feeling encouraged that this particular ordeal is almost over; chemo isn’t fun, and I’m getting tired of the side effects, and wondering every time I get an ache, pain or some other different feeling if it’s another side effect from the chemo or ‘normal’. I’m not even sure there is a normal right now. My brain doesn’t function like I think it should; my GI tract is messed up; and I have weird bumps appearing.

About those bumps. The first one showed up on my arm a day or two after I had the surgery to insert the power port. An ultrasound showed it wasn’t a blood clot, thankfully. Nobody has been able to explain what it is or where it came from. It doesn’t hurt; it isn’t sore; and hasn’t changed size or shape since it appeared. Then a second one appeared just above the notch where the collarbone is. So off I went today for another ultrasound; didn’t show anything definitive. I guess this one will be around for a while, too, since it’s basically soft tissue swelling. It’s more of an annoyance than anything else. But I think I need to keep vigilant to see if any more of these swellings pop up.

The good news is that my sons showed up on my doorstep late Friday afternoon. They had been planning this visit for a couple of months and had to coordinate arrivals and who was picking up whom from which airport (one lives in Seattle and one lives in Birmingham). And they didn’t mention a word to me. I hadn’t seen them in 7 or 8 years, so this was a wonderful surprise. And the timing was right – this being an ‘off’ week. They flew back today and I already miss them.

10 thoughts on “The light at the end of the tunnel

  1. saundragoodman says:

    You’re having another side affect nobody’s heard of before. You go, girl! I’m so glad your sons came for a visit. Good medicine!!!

  2. I did my best! They live on opposite sides of the country but are very close. We tried to raise them to know that family is the most important thing in the world. Guess it worked! 🙂

  3. I’m so happy your sons came to visit, it must have been amazing to see them both (at the same time). Having three children of my own who live great distances away I know how rare it is to see them together 😀

    My mother has finished her chemo and is in remission (she’s 83), but I know how much it can knock you around so I’m sending you big hugs. I’d be worried about lumps as well, but if they’re not finding anything sinister then that is great news 😉

  4. Iva Pokorny says:

    It was wonderful that your sons went to all coordination to come and see you after so long a time. And your photos … Beautiful. Ruth .. I have not walked in your shoes. Never will, of course. Now that I think about it. But I am here to walk with you as best I can. I see the light as you do .. With you. And all the difficult bumps on the way. Real bumps ..as it turns out right now. However, it sounds like these bumps you have are not putting shadows in your light at the end of the tunnel. Take care, dear friend .. As you are doing. And wow! Your sons are awesome! Please excuse my horrible avatar here. Or whatever you call it. I want to get rid of it. It gives me a tummy ache or nightmares. I don’t know how to get rid of it. I will figure it out,tho.

  5. I don’t know anything about those avatars, Iva. Yes, that one is a little yucky! LOL

    But I do appreciate your support and your sharing the walk with me. That is so special to me.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

