Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy has some weird side effects. It’s not just the expected ones like GI upset and hair loss, but things like a change in the taste buds and vision changes. I’ve noticed that things don’t taste quite the same as they used to. I love ginger beer, the strong kind, but the last time I tried to drink some, it tasted awful! Other things don’t taste quite that bad but just different and a little off. Except chocolate. Chocolate still tastes fine – if it tasted bad, I don’t know what I would do!

And the vision changes are troublesome because my contact lenses don’t quite work any more. My glasses are okay, but they’re bifocal so sitting at the computer staring at the screen through the lower part gives me a crick in my neck. I bought my current glasses at Costco a few months ago, so yesterday, I took them in to see if they could loosen the side pieces as they were so tight they were cutting grooves into my head. The woman at the optometry counter not only loosened the side pieces, but also fixed them so that they sit higher on my nose if that’s where I place them, and then I can see the computer screen comfortably without having to put my head up and back hurting my neck and shoulders. So that problem is solved.

Now if my GI tract would just calm down a bit more, I would feel so much better!

8 thoughts on “Chemotherapy

  1. I don’t really “like” it, but, well, just to let you know I was here.

    My brother had the same problem with his taste buds…we learned never to serve him his favourite foods on his chemo days. I know he couldn’t sit at the computer at all, it made him dizzy, but I don’t know if it was because of his eyesight or the general nausea he constantly felt.

    Anyway, I’m glad they fixed your glasses.

  2. I’m learning so much from you. One thing I keep wishing is that people had been freer to talk about cancer when it entered our family decades ago. It would have helped.

    My friend who currently is dealing with it reported the same thing during chemo – her taste for things changed, except in the case of chocolate. It remained just as much a tasty treat.

  3. Thank you for being here, Sharon. The taste thing isn’t just on chemo days; although since I’ve had the port put in, I can taste the saline when they flush it – weird!!

  4. Helping others understand what cancer is like is part of why I’m chronicling this journey. Nobody can truly know what it’s like unless they have it – and everybody reacts differently, but I hope I can shed some light on what we go through. If I’ve helped just one person, I think I’ve done well. 🙂

  5. Oh Ruth, I just wish I could hug you! I’m glad that chocolate is still a treat. And that the optician was so helpful. Keep posting, I think you’re doing an amazing job recounting your experience.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

