Dreams

When I first began my chemo journey, someone (and I don’t remember who it was) told me that people on chemo tend to have more vivid dreams. I don’t know how true that is, but I have been remembering more of my dreams lately. Usually I wake up with a faint hint of a dream that disappears like a will-o-the-wisp as soon as my eyes are open. The past three weeks, the dreams have stayed with me, sometimes for days, and it always seems I dream of places that are familiar, although when I wake I have no remembrance of ever being there.

There are certain dreams that I seem to have over and over; and there are some dreams that visit me when I’m awake. One dream in particular has stayed in my memory since childhood. I’m not going to bore you with details on any of these dreams, but some are particularly bizarre, and I think we all have those.

Dream interpretation is not an exact science, but I do believe that dreams are a way for us to process information that seems impossible when we’re awake. So it makes sense that my dreams are more easily remembered right now as there is so much information to process and remember.

I am looking forward to the new regimen starting on Monday; I’m eager to find out if it’s really going to be easier on me than the last one. Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. I’ve long been fascinated with dreams, took several courses on dreams in the past and would probably have enjoyed doing some kind of work in that field, if I’d known it was possible when I still had the wherewithal to study in that area. I firmly believe that recurring dreams are trying to tell us something. In my darkest years I had the most vivid, life-changing dreams. Some of the seemed so real that to this day I’m not totally convinced that I wasn’t really there in those places…faces and details are still so vivid even now. I love those kinds of dreams, though some have been too gory to put into words…though sometimes I wonder if I could have written some pretty good fiction novels based on those dreams, LOL. I’m rambling now. It’s another one of my favourite topics, but not many people want to go there.

  2. Dreams fascinate me too and I agree that they are the result of our sub-conscience processing information Sending my love and hoping your new regimen is much better than the last. Love Jenna

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

