Rest

Surgery for installing the port went well on Wednesday. Having to show up at the hospital at 5:30am wasn’t so great, but it meant we were home well before noon. I was planning to go to work on Thursday; what was I thinking? As I told my boss, I think I seriously underestimated the amount of pain I was going to have. So I spent Thursday taking pain pills, reading, and napping. I did go to work on Friday and felt better than I have in a while.

I was scheduled for lab work Friday afternoon so got to find out how well the new port would work. I was apprehensive because the site was still quite sore, but it actually hurt less than having a needle stuck in my vein – so score one for medical science. The other thing that happened is my arm suddenly had a big lump on it. The nurse at the Drs. office checked it out  and sent me off to the hospital for an ultrasound to rule out a blood clot. No blood clot so just warm compresses to bring down the swelling.

I am so impressed with my treatment team at the Oncology office; they are on top of every symptom no matter how minor I think it might be. Their philosophy seems to be to make the experience as painless as possible; the staff even goes to bat with the insurance company when necessary.

It seems that so much has happened in the last month – it’s been a whirlwind of activity and information. I’ve hardly had time to catch my breath before the next thing comes along. But for now, it’s the weekend. Time to regroup and refresh.

2 thoughts on “Rest

  1. I’m grateful for your team. I’m grateful that you are so open about sharing your experience with us so we can support and encourage you. When my father fell ill, nobody told me the truth (not even him). Forgive me if I’m not able to communicate everything I’m feeling.

  2. It’s okay, Saundra. I can remember a time when it was thought better to ‘lie’ about devastating illnesses, especially to the patients. But the patient always knew anyway.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

