Earworms

I came home early today because I wasn’t feeling well. I took a long nap and feel much better. But I woke up with a Burl Ives song in my head, the one about the old lady who swallowed a fly. Do you remember that song? (You might if you’re a ‘certain age’)

Some earworms are funny, some are sad, but they’re all annoying. I don’t know where they come from or why we get them. I know that they come out of nowhere and can hang around for a long time. I’ve had many of them over the years – certainly too many to remember – but some were quite memorable. Like the Gilligan’s Island theme song, or some random pieces of a song from my youth that I used to know all the words for but now can’t remember more than maybe half of the words. Those are the most annoying because they stay, and eat at me, until I either remember the words or break down and Google the song – if I can remember the title!

What about you? Do you get earworms? What’s the most annoying song you hear as an earworm?

14 thoughts on “Earworms

  1. I’m sorry you’re not feeling well, Ruth. I hope you feel better soon.

    I get a lot of these earworms (it’s the first time I’ve ever heard them called that, but what a great description!) Mine are usually commercial jingles that keep repeating over and over and over again. There are actually products out there that I WON’T buy because their jingles annoy me so much. But thankfully I can’t think of one right now and I’m not going to try, because I don’t want one to get stuck in my head again.

    I’ve been listening to a lot of contemporary Christian music lately…I like it when that stuff gets stuck in my head, especially the ones with beautiful instrumentals and harmonies.

  2. My daughter just started singing “Take me out to the ballgame” before bedtime (she can be a little random jukebox at times). I loathe “Jingle Bell Rock” when that gets stuck in my head. Of course your Burl Ives for some reason, reminded me of the chewing gum on the bed post song. Thanks, Ruth. I owe you one or two earworms!

  3. Does your chewing gum lose its flavor
    On the bedpost over night?
    If your mother says don’t chew it,
    Do you swallow it in spite?
    Lonnie Donegan
    Thanks for another earworm! LOL

  4. There are studies out there on earworms, Sharon! I don’t hear jingles so much as silly little songs whose words I can’t remember, and that’s worse than hearing the silly song!!

  5. GreedyFrog says:

    I end up stuck with random Christmas songs as earworms, all year round. I am not even a Christmas-y person!

  6. If anyone at work say’s they have a song stuck in their head (or an earworm) I just sing, “We’re off to see the Wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz.” and it cures them! (and then they hate me because it’s a really hard song to get out of your head) 😀

  7. We have an ice cream truck that rolls through the neighborhood here playing Christmas songs. I’ve never heard it play anything else in the year and a half we’ve lived here!

  8. My earworms are constant. They seem to take on a life during dreams. Lately, it’s “The Lion Sleeps Tonight.” A win-a-woc, a win-a-woc…oh crap…here we go.

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

