Favorite foods

Sometimes, being a vegetarian can be boring as there are so many things I don’t like. Well, I’m not a strict vegetarian I just don’t eat meat except fish, and fish is only once or twice a week. But there are some things that are probably sorta weird that I do eat. For example, my favorite sandwich is avocado with cream cheese and honey. When my partner first suggested it, I thought that sounded disgusting. But I tried it, and now I love it! There is something about the different textures, colors, and tastes that make this one great!

We also have discovered salmon burgers from Costco. They are made with wild-caught Alaska salmon, which is the only kind we will eat. Atlantic salmon is farmed, and has color (and who knows what else!) added. And I believe they have to throw in antibiotics because the fish are in such close quarters than any infection spreads like wildfire. But back to salmon burgers; these make for a wonderfully simple meal with salad or a few vegetables.

And sushi. I first tried sushi shortly after I moved in with my partner. It didn’t sound appealing, but I was willing to give it a try. So something else I love! I’m not very adventurous when it comes to food, but I love sushi. It’s a rare treat for us to go to our favorite little local sushi place, which is a storefront in a strip mall. But the sushi there is so much better than the big fancy places that have sprung up over the last few years. The place is smaller, too, and only seats about 25 people, so if you want sushi on a weekend, get there early!

There are foods I ate in my younger years that I loved, and would probably still eat if they weren’t meat, like roast beef and yorkshire pudding, pork cracklins, blood pudding, hot pastrami sandwiches. Some I still eat like mashed potatoes and gravy (vegetarian gravy, of course), and banana sandwiches.

What about you? Do you have favorite or weird things (or both!) you like to eat?

8 thoughts on “Favorite foods

  1. Fun blog, Ruth…one of my favourite combos (before my current no-carb diet), was to put milk chocolate chips on top of potato chips and eat them together. Another combo that I enjoy is chicken and green grapes together. I like experimenting.

  2. Yum – I’m going to try avocado with cream cheese and honey it sounds fantastic!

    Sushi places are great if they make it on the spot – I don’t like the bigger places either because I think they make it elsewhere and ship it in.

    Yoghurt is my favourite for breakfast or eggs benedict 😀

    I love putting chutney on toast, covering it with cheese and grilling it. Very yummy indeed!

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

