Life can be overwhelming

Life can be overwhelming. There are so many things I want to do that are pushed out by the things I have to do. I love to write, to take pictures, to be out in Nature. But the dogs have to be fed; the bed must be made; the laundry must be done; and on and on. I have a full-time job a part-time job, a home, two dogs, a partner, a yard. And there never seems to be enough time.

But today I realized something: when there is so much to do it’s too easy to decide to do nothing because so much to do can be overwhelming. Doing nothing is a choice that I sometimes make and then beat myself up for all the things I should have been doing.

I work because I’m not rich (not even close) so bills must be paid, and we need heat and light and air conditioning, and food, and water.

So today I made the conscious decision that I am going to focus more on the things I want to do. The things I have to do will still be there. And how important is it that the bed is made every day? Of course some things can’t be neglected, but those that can will be. Living things will take priority from now on, and that includes me – at the top of the list.

One thought on “Life can be overwhelming

  1. my thoughts exactly. Who cares if the bed is made? You probably want to feed the dogs because you love them and want them to be happy.Let go of more shoulds and find some more wants!

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

