Comparisons

Do you compare yourself to other people? Do you wistfully gaze at the perfect body and wish it were yours? Do you envy people with curly/straight/thick/long/short hair and wish yours looked like that? Do you pine for the job your neighbor has because of the pay/perks/travel? I think all of us want what we don’t have, but it’s time we appreciated ourselves and what we do have. Each one of us is unique. We each have our own set of physical attributes and talents, and nobody else in the whole world has the exact same set of attributes we have. There is probably someone out there who is envying you and what you have.

It has taken me a long time to be at peace with who I am and with my own set of unique traits and abilities. I still sometimes catch myself admiring someone else and starting to wish I was like that, but then I remember that no matter what someone else may have that I don’t, I have a lot to be thankful for, and I know there are people who appreciate my talents because they have told me.

So today, instead of wishing for what others have, tell them what it is that you admire about them. Be content with who and what you are; and if there are things you don’t like about yourself, either change them or accept them.

One thought on “Comparisons

  1. Ruth I love your intention for the day. I've often heard that what we see as faults in others is a mirror of our own selves. I believe it is the same for the things we admire about others. But first we have to believe in our abilities to be, do, or become that which we envy. My intention for the day is to find the beauty in ALL; even going so far to tell someone I'm jealous of their beauty/talent, whatever. Because when they shine, so does my soul. Thank you…you really help me to stay on the good side of me. And that's not an easy task! LOL!

Ruth passed away from cancer. Please remove from list

